Resources:

Listen to the GAO Podcast about K-12 School Building Construction and Renovation Needs, featuring interviews with GAO officials on significant issues and new reports HERE

View the GAO study that found that School Districts Frequently Identified Multiple Building Systems Needing Updates or Replacement HERE.

View the Snips Magazine article regarding the indoor air quality of schools in California. They highlight the new white paper published by the National Energy Management Institute (NEMI) and the University of California – Davis. View the article HERE

 

Building Reopening Ventilation and Energy Efficiency Verification and Repair Program

The UC Davis Western Cooling Efficiency Center (WCEC) has put together an educational and informational website providing information and resources for improving air quality in California schools.

CAL SMACNA is proud to share with you an exclusive video produced by the UC Davis Western Cooling Efficiency Center and sponsored by NEMI illustrating the importance of proper ventilation in schools.  This video was produced as a resource that can be used by CAL SMACNA members and others in our HVAC allied trades community to help increase public awareness and understanding of ventilation in modern buildings. 

HVAC systems provide necessary mechanical ventilation to classrooms. Students and teachers occupying energy efficient school buildings with sealed building envelopes rely upon properly operating ventilation systems for fresh air.  Ventilation helps remove the build-up of indoor air pollutants such as volatile organic compounds, including formaldehyde, which can off-gas from building materials, finishes, and furniture. There is also increasing evidence that CO2 exhaled by building occupants is an indoor pollutant that can affect cognitive performance. This is particularly important in classrooms, where lots of people gather in a small space built and designed for energy efficiency.

After thorough research by Lawrence Berkeley Labs and UC Davis, the WCEC recommend the following actions to improve ventilation rates in classrooms:

  • Complete commissioning and acceptance testing of new HVAC systems as required by Title 24.
  • Run HVAC fans when classrooms are occupied to bring in fresh air.
  • Replace filters 2-3 times per school year.
  • Monitor classroom CO2 concentrations. Thermostats with CO2 sensors and stand-alone sensors are widely available.
  • Test ventilation rates in existing HVAC systems and make corrections when needed.

The WCEC website also includes information on the white paper on Proposed Ventilation and Energy Efficiency Verification/Repair Program for School Reopening. The white paper presents a proposal that would prepare schools for reopening during the COVID-19 crisis.

To view more information, news coverage regarding this issue, and additional resources visit their website HERE.

If you are interested in receiving more information on classroom IAQ or otherwise helping our efforts to improve schools please send your contact information to Emily Mills at emily@cal-smanca.org

 

Qualified Contractor Referral List — School Ventilation Verification and Energy Optimization Program

The following contractors have successfully completed the CAL SMACNA training webinar on the School Ventilation Verification and Energy Optimization program and are fully qualified to respond to any and all requests for ventilation assessment and/or repair services from schools and public agencies:  

 

Peterson Mechanical

Scott Peterson, Service Director

Sonoma, CA
707-940-3139
scott@petersonmechanical.com 

United Mechanical, Inc.

Vahid Amani/Tony Vela

San Jose, Alameda, Rohnert Park, CA
408-313-8980/408-781-9571
vamani@umi1.com
tvela@umi1.com

Silicon Valley Mechanical, Inc.

Michael O’Rourke, Director, Service Account Manager

San Jose, CA
925-819-2224
morourke@svminc.com

National Air Balance Co.

Jeff Wooning, Director of Sales

Fremont, CA
510-773-7292
jeffw@nabco.biz

Direct Air Conditioning, Inc.

Norm Lussier, CEO

Fullerton, CA
714-224-4450 
directair@msn.com

Air Systems Service & Construction

Logan Brimer, Chief Engineer

Concord, CA
916-813-3431
lbrimer@airsystems1.com

Bel Air Mechanical, Inc.

Bruce Campbell, President

Concord, CA
925-609-9655
bruce@melairmechanical.com 

Allison Mechanical, Inc.

Don Allison, President

Redlands, CA
909-478-5633
dallison@allison1.net

Control Air Enterprises

Bret Breedlove, Service Manager

Hayward, CA
510-512-0372
bbreedlove@controlac.com

Allied Heating & Air Conditioning

Mike Loftin, Service Manager

San Rafael, CA
415-233-0352
mloftin@alliedhvac.com

West Coast Test & Balance

Alex Marks, Lead Balance Technician

Livermore, CA
925-364-1048
amarks@westcoasttab.com

Carter Air Balance Company

David Galli, Vice President

Napa, CA
707-974-4979
dave@carterairbalance.com

Bay City Mechanical Service

Greig Hoque, P.E., Project Group Engineer

Richmond, CA
408-377-0916
assessyourschool@baycitymech.com

MESA3

Paul Mocny, President

San Jose, CA
916-803-0268
paul.mocny@MESA3.com

ACCO Engineered Systems

Josh Keene, Director of System Operations

San Leandro, CA
925-360-5649
jkeene@accoes.com

ICOM Mechanical Inc.

Thomas Morey, Project Engineer

San Jose, CA
408-667-0445
tmorey@icominc.com

SitelogIQ

Jennifer Butler, Facility Solutions Specialist

Santa Rosa, CA
707-396-6266
jennifer.butler@sitelogiq.com

Martinez Sheet Metal

Jessica Pacat, Business Operations Manager

Martinez, CA
925-228-3380
jpacat@martinezsheetmetal.com

ACCO Engineered Systems

Alex Tiechner, System Operations Supervisor

Sacramento, CA
916-275-9902
atiechner@accoes.com

ACCO Engineered Systems

Ivan Hooper, Project Manager

Sacramento, CA
916-997-2625
ihooper@accoes.com

Circo System Balance

Dave Little, COO

Sacramento, CA
916-889-3714
davelittle@circobalance.com 

Brice Mechanical

Nicole Billings, Project Manager

Sacramento, CA
530-363-6044
nicoleb@bricemechanical.com

Airco Mechanical Inc.

Savannah Hatler, Service Coordinator

Sacramento, CA
916-381-4523
savannahh@aircomech.com

ABM Building Solutions

Richard Cooke, Vice President

Sacramento, CA
916-381-4526
rick.cooke@abm.com

Air Control Balancing, Inc.

Brian Poindexter, Estimator

Fresno, CA
559-454-8000
brian@acbfresno.com

Balance America, Inc.

Krikor "Koko" Babayan

San Marcos, CA
760-798-9255
kbabayan@balanceamericainc.com

New England Sheet Metal & Mechanical Co.

John Sloan, President & CEO

Fresno, CA
559-268-7375
jsloan@nesm.com

Strategic Mechanical

Mark Schweitzer, Sales Engineer

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced and Tulare, CA
559-446-5526
mschweitzer@strategicmech.com

AireMasters AC

Michael Dean, VP of Operations

Santa Fe Springs, CA
562-944-6302
mdean@airemasters-ac.com

A.O. Reed & Co.

Aubrey Taft, Vice President Business Development

San Diego, CA
619-778-3316
ataft@aoreed.com

A.O. Reed & Co.

Jaimi Lomas, Vice President Service

San Diego, CA
619-247-7437
jlomas@aoreed.com 

Jackson & Blanc

Kaveen Patel, PE, CEM, Project Consultant

San Diego, CA
858-282-7939
kpatel@jacksonandblanc.com

Certified Air Balance

Ed Santana, Jr.

Santa Fe Springs, CA
818-631-9283
estantanajr@certifiedairbalance.com

J.R. Barto Heating/Air-Conditioning/Sheet Metal, Inc.

Kamron Lorencz, Office Manager

San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura, CA
805-928-5486
kamron@jrbarto.com

Precision Air Balance Co. Inc.

Karen S. Fox, President

Anaheim, CA
714-630-3796
kfox@precisionairbalance.com

ACH Mechanical Contractor, Inc.

Hector Vargas, President/Mike Boughamer

Penn Air Control, Inc.

Nathan Culley, General Manager

Los Angeles, CA
714-325-7162
nculley@pennairgroup.com

Applied Air Conditioning

Carmen Koo, VP

Fullerton, CA
714-615-0944
ckoo@applied-air.com

Los Angeles Air Conditioning, Inc.

Anthony Alkhuder, Vice-President

La Verne, CA
909-596-7077
malkhuder@laair.net

Reed Mechanical Systems, Inc.

Tom Reed, President

Ventura, CA
805-768-6924
tomr@reedmechsys.com

Associate Mechanical Contractors

Eric Hall, Start-Up & Commissioning Supervisor

Escondido, CA
760-294-3517
erich@amechinc.com

Therma Holdings

Don Bach, VP/GM SoCal

Irwindale, CA
626-446-1854
dbach@therma.com

Air Management Industries, Inc.

Sean Wallace, Estimator

Rancho Cucamonga, CA
909-945-0041
sean@airmanagementindustries.com

Anderson Systems

Olaf Villadsen, Mechanical Designer

Goleta, CA
805-448-3414
ovilladsen@andersys.com

Cold Craft, Inc.

Kent Penning, President/Dan Parent, Engineer

NOTE:  CAL SMACNA contractors who are interested in being included on this referral list please contact Emily Mills at emily@cal-smacna.org to learn how to attend our next program training webinar.