Awards & Achievements

Edward G. Banks’ Memorial Contractor of the Year Award

Created in 1996, in memory of Ed Banks, owner of Meadows Mechanical in Gardena, Ed Banks exemplified the best characteristics of association membership. He was the consummate SMACNA member at every level, local, state and national. When the situation called for leadership, he was a leader. When the situation called for collective action, he was a team player.

Tom Guilfoy Memorial Craftsmanship Award

Created in 2004, this annual award was in memory of Tom Guilfoy, owner of 100 year old Guilfoy Cornice Works in San Francisco. This award is for any project where attention to detail and expertise was critical to the project and exemplifies teamwork between sheet metal workers and the contractor and the contractor and owner. Click here for the 2018 Tom Guilfoy Memorial Craftsmanship of the Year Application.

Distinguished Legislative Services Award

Created in 2002, the Distinguished Legislative Services Award recognizes a person or company that has made exceptional efforts to support our legislative agenda by writing letters when requested, hosting shop visits with legislators, and getting involved with legislative/regulatory issues affecting our industry. This award is not necessarily given on an annual basis.

Safety Awards

Safety Awards are given annually to all companies that meet the award criteria. The company with the best record in each category will receive a monetary prize as well as the award.