SACRAMENTO — The California Labor Commissioner and the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) released FAQ’s this morning regarding the Retroactive COVID Paid Sick Leave laws signed by Governor Newsom this past Friday. This updated information should help employers better understand the legal obligations accompanying these new laws.

How do employers pay for this? — Small and medium sized businesses (up to 500 employees) are eligible to receive federal payroll tax credits for paid sick and paid family leave provided to employees. Eligible employers may claim credit for paid sick leave provided to an employee for up to two weeks (up to 80 hours) and the employee’s regular rate of pay up to $511 per day and $5,110 in total. 

To view the California Labor Commissioner’s FAQ’s released today on AB 84 & SB 95 CLICK HERE

Topics covered include:

  1. Coverage
  2. Reasons for Taking Leave
  3. Start and End Date
  4. Requesting Leave 
  5. Calculating Leave
  6. Credits
  7. Record Keeping and Paystubs
  8. Enforcement
  9. Relation to Other Laws