Edward G. Banks’ Memorial Contractor of the Year Award

Created in 1996, in memory of Ed Banks, owner of Meadows Mechanical in Gardena, Ed Banks exemplified the best characteristics of association membership. He was the consummate SMACNA member at every level, local, state and national. When the situation called for leadership, he was a leader. When the situation called for collective action, he was a team player.

Ed truly believed in the value of association membership and the benefits to be derived from it. He never said no when his participation was needed. His example stands as a model for present and future members and it is with this in mind that the Ed Banks Memorial Award was established by CAL SMACNA.

The Ed Banks Memorial Award will be presented each year to the CAL SMACNA member who, in the opinion of the committee, best epitomizes the characteristics of Ed Banks who was, above all, a truly gentle man.

Ed Banks Memorial Award for Contractor of the Year 2018 – Angie Simon

Angie Simon has been actively involved in SMACNA leadership for several years. She serves as co-chair of SMACNA’s Steering Council for Women in Construction Leadership, as a SMACN-IFUS trustee. She has served as the chair of the HVAC Contractors Council Steering Committee, and as the chair of the Products and Programs Coordinating Committee. Angie has also been a member of the Director Nominating Committee and the Budget and Finance Committee. In 2013, she was inducted into SMACNA’s distinguished College of Fellows.

Angie has served as a member of SMACNA’s Board of Directors from 2007 to 2011, making her the first woman to serve on SMACNA’s Board. And, in 2016, she was elected by the SMACNA Board of Directors to serve as vice president. In 2019 she will be the first ever woman named national President for SMACNA.

In 2016 she was recognized as the 2016 SMACNA Contractor of the Year, the first woman to receive this honor, for her longstanding involvement in the Association, especially for mentoring young people and supporting women’s involvement in the construction industry. She was presented with the Silicon Valley Women of the Influence Award in 2017.

She was also the first woman to serve as president of the Bay Area SMACNA Chapter. She held all the officer roles and was a member of the chapter’s Board of Directors. She was a trustee of the Bay Area SMACNA Industry Promotion Fund and on the former San Mateo SMACNA chapter’s Board of Directors. She has been a member of ASHRAE since 1984.

Her love for math and science began at a young age; her father, an electrical engineer working for the U.S. Navy, encouraged her to study mechanical engineering. She attended Cal Poly San Luis Obispo where she was drawn to their HVAC solar option within mechanical engineering. She continues to be an active alumni member of the Mechanical Engineering program and supports the Cal Poly Mustangs softball team, who she played for while in college.

Currently, she is the president of Western Allied Mechanical Inc., where there are an unusually high number of women employed in technical positions compared to other companies. She is passionate about recruiting women into the HVAC industry, and establishing mentoring programs within her company; 2016 SMACNA President Guy Gast noted: “Just as SMACNA is dedicated to bringing young people into the association, Angie has established an exceptional mentoring program at her company where the interns are involved in a project from start to finish.”

She is an advocate for women in her field, leading initiatives within Western Allied Mechanical, SMACNA, and the International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, and Transportation Workers to mentor and support them.

Past recipients of this award include:
2017 Joe Isom, California Sheet Metal Works, Inc.
2016 David Lawson, Lawson Mechanical Contractors
2015 Randy Attaway, AGC, Inc.
2014 Lonnie Petty, Strategic Mechanical Contractors
2013 Mike Pence, Control Air North, Inc.
2012 Kent Cooper, Los Angeles Air Conditioning, Inc.
2011 Rick Von Gottberg, Lemon Grove Sheet Metal Works, Inc.
2010 Lonnie Michael, III, Ray L. Hellwig Mechanical Co., Inc.
2009 Bob Vlick, ACCO Engineered Systems
2008 Jim Boone, New England Sheet Metal Works
2007 Bob Tuck, Atlas Heating & Air Conditioning, Co.
2006 Tani Poe, Western Allied Corp.
2005 Gary Moore, Air-Ex Air Conditioning
2004 Matthew Smith, Smith Heating & Air Conditioning
2003 James Asbury, Bell Products
2002 Jordan Ehrenkranz, Ideal Heating & Air Conditioning
2001 Garland Self, Jr., Selco Heating & Air Conditioning
2001 Bill Prosser, Sr., CANFAB
2000 Ken Hammill, Capital Sheet Metal
1999 Daren Weckerly, San Diego Sheet Metal Works
1998 Kurt Smith, Smith Heating & Air Conditioning Co., Inc.
1997 John Couts, Couts Heating & Cooling